Tarheel Swimming Association

Local Tarheel Swimming Association teams looking to rebound

From staff reportsJune 27, 2014 

— Area swim teams will try to right their ship this coming week after being shut out in Tarheel Swimming Association action on Tuesday.

The Division 5 Meredith Townes Mudpuppies (2-0) outmatched the Division 6 Planter’s Walk Piranhas (0-2) in Knightdale, 356-153. The Mudpuppies, the defending Division 5 champs, had the size advantage with nearly 150 swimmers going up against the Piranhas’ 86-member team.

Triple winners for Planter’s Walk were Liam Givens-Keatley and Robert McCue (freestyle, breaststroke and butterfly). Kristin Olson (freestyle and backstroke) was the Piranhas’ lone double winner.

Despite the Division 10 Wendell Waves (1-1) having 10 more swimmers on their roster, the Division 8 Southall Seahorses (2-0) stroked to a 284-197 triumph in their home waters.

Wendell’s triple winners were Mason Hetzell, John Riddle, Hayden Simpson and Caroline Duttman (freestyle, breaststroke and butterfly). Double winners for the Waves were Gracie Wright (freestyle and backstroke) and Parker Perry (backstroke and breaststroke).

The Division 10 Zebulon Dolphins (0-2) came closest to a victory Tuesday, falling 237-191 at home to the Division 9 Carlyle & Chatsworth Lakers (1-1). The Lakers team consists of about 60 swimmers, while Zebulon has 38 this season.

Picking up triple wins for the Dolphins were Avery Thomas and Caroline Jones (freestyle, breaststroke and butterfly)

Planter’s Walk is set to travel to northwest Raleigh to face the Division 7 Black Horse Run (0-1) in week three action this coming Tuesday, July 1. The Mustangs’ unit outnumbers that of the Piranhas by about 20 swimmers.

Wendell is set for an even match-up, size-wise, against Carlyle & Chatsworth on the road and Zebulon is slated to host the Division 8 Oak Park Piranhas (1-1, 79 swimmers) in week three.

Meredith Townes 356,

Planter’s Walk 153

Medley Relay

First: Evan Peters, Cameron Mays, Ben Rashleigh and Liam Givens-Keatley; Dylan Bobbitt, Phillip Moghaddam, Logan Anderson and Robert McCue.


First: Luke Peters, Liam Givens-Keatley, Robert McCue and Kristin Olson.

Second: Reagan Eatman, Libby Gill, Dax Hardy, Kelly McCue and Logan Anderson.

Third: Ben Rashleigh and Brenna Hardy.


First: Evan Peters, Dylan Bobbitt and Kristin Olson.

Second: Luke Peters.

Third: Reagan Eatman, Kelly McCue, Phillip Moghaddam and Leah Yuhas.


First: Liam Givens-Keatley and Robert McCue.

Second: Libby Gill, Evan Peters, Logan Anderson and Hannah Moore.

Third: Trent Walker, Ben Rashleigh, Emma Rutherford and Dylan Bobbitt.


First: Dax Hardy, Liam Givens-Keatley, Kelly McCue and Robert McCue.

Second: Jason Noyes, Luke Peters, Ben Rashleigh, Logan Anderson and Kristin Olson.

Third: Ethan Robinson, Lainey Anderson, Cameron Mays, Emma Rutherford and Brenna Hardy.

Freestyle Relay

First: Evan Peters, Cameron Mays, Ben Rashleigh and Liam Givens-Keatley; Dylan Bobbitt, Phillip Moghaddam, Logan Anderson and Robert McCue.

Southall 284

Wendell 197

Medley Relay

First: Will Acree, Tucker Jones, Mason Hetzell and Jackson White; Anna Grace Maynor, Kate Simpson, Melanie Nicoll and Carson Hetzell; Woody Raynor, Chip Raynor, Blake Jones and Matthew Shore.


First: Mason Hetzell, John Riddle, Gracie Wright, Hayden Simpson and Caroline Duttman.

Second: Nicholas Duffy, Carson Hetzell, Tucker Jones, Anna Grace Maynor, Blake Jones and James Riddle.

Third: Carson Batchelor, Kate Simpson, Woody Raynor and Nicki Riddle.


First: Parker Perry, Tucker Jones, Gracie Wright and James Riddle.

Second: Nicholas Duffy, Andrew White, Melanie Nicoll, Julia Waynik and Blake Jones.

Third: Carson Hetzell, Anna Grace Maynor, Ben Sherman, Victoria Segura, Morgan Sherman, Woody Raynor, AJ Swaim and Hannah Norris.


First: Carson Batchelor, Parker Perry, Mason Hetzell, Melanie Nicoll, John Riddle, Hayden Simpson, Caroline Duttman and Chip Raynor.

Second: Parker Acree, AJ Swaim and Nicki Riddle.

Third: Michelle Duffy, Tucker Jones, Colin Rourke, Julia Waynik and Matthew Shore.


First: Mason Hetzell, John Riddle, Hayden Simpson and Caroline Duttman.

Second: Melanie Nicoll and Blake Jones.

Third: Will Acree, Morgan Sherman, Chip Raynor and James Riddle.

Freestyle Relay

First: Tucker Jones, Andrew White, Will Acree and Mason Hetzell; Melanie Nicoll, Parker Perry, Kate Simpson and Anna Grace Maynor; John Riddle, Deqlan Mitchell, Alex Levinson and Colin Rourke; Chip Raynor, Matthew Shore, Woody Raynor and Blake Jones.

Carlyle & Chatsworth 237,

Zebulon 191

Medley Relay

First: Ayden Wheless, Greyson Hirsch, Benny Allmon and Brock Alford; Emma Bailey, Kalin Creech, Hope Latta and Avery Wheless; Avery Thomas, Caroline Jones, Bella Leahy and Heidi Latta; Ryan Worley, Alston Willard, Ian Kerr and Josh Temple.


First: Anna Bailey, Avery Thomas and Caroline Jones.

Second: John Husted, Samantha Rodgers, Benny Allmon, Heidi Latta and Ryan Worley.

Third: Cash Bridger, Elizabeth Kennemur, Carson Creech, Greyson Hirsch, Hope Latta, Zollie Alford, Bella Leahy, Josh Temple and Alston Willard.


First: Cash Bridger, Lillie Grace Shelton, Brock Alford, Heidi Latta and Ryan Worley.

Second: Elizabeth Kennemur, Samantha Rodgers, Emma Bailey and Bella Leahy.

Third: Leah Kennemur, Carson Creech, Ayden Wheless, Kalin Creech, Zollie Alford, Maci Perry and Ian Kerr.


First: Avery Thomas and Caroline Jones.

Second: John Husted, Ainsley Thomas, Samantha Rodgers, Avery Wheless, Ashley Kerr and Alston Willard.

Third: Leah Kennemur, Greyson Hirsch, Emma Bailey and Zollie Alford.


First: Avery Thomas and Caroline Jones.

Second: Carson Creech, Benny Allmon, Hope Latta, Ashley Kerr, Heidi Latta and Ryan Worley.

Third: Angelo Husted, Brock Alford, Bella Leahy and Ian Kerr.

Freestyle Relay

First: Benny Allmon, Greyson Hirsch, Ayden Wheless and Brock Alford; Kalin Creech, Hope Latta, Emma Bailey and Avery Wheless; Caroline Jones, Heidi Latta, Avery Thomas and Bella Leahy.

Eastern Wake News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service