Greater Neuse River 4A Conference

Garner, Clayton standouts lead lists of Greater Neuse River 4A Conference fall honors

From Staff ReportsJanuary 3, 2014 

Garner and Clayton dominated the Greater Neuse River 4A Conference fall sports season, winning or sharing team championships in five sports. Those efforts were rewarded again with the announcement of the league’s all-conference honors.

Clayton and Garner shared the volleyball regular-season championship in the Greater Neuse River 4A Conference and they split the lead awards from the conference. Clayton’s Marlon Lee was named the coach of the year after leading the Comets to a 13-1 regular-season record.

Garner standout Courtney Weathersbee was the player of the year in volleyball. Weathersbee finished the season with 700 assists, 102 service aces, 94 kills and 68 digs.

Garner’s consistency in the girls golf race in the conference was rewarded with three all-conference selections and conference champion Nicole Ceyrolles being named the player of the year. Trojans’ coach Connie Barnes was the coach of the year.

Clayton won the girls tennis team championship with a 14-0 league record, led by player of the year Carmelle Joyner. Joyner went 17-0 against conference foes in her freshman season and was the league’s singles champion.

Boys soccer awards went to Clayton’s Chase Jones as defender of the year and Garner’s Marco Perez who was the offensive player of the year. Jon Sherwin, who led Garner to its second straight conference championship, was the coach of the year in boys soccer.

Garner’s Nyheim Hines was the player of the year in football after scoring 60 touchdowns and totaling more than 4,000 all-purpose yards for the Trojans this season.

Clayton’s Rashan McKey shared defensive player of the year honors with Marcell Johnson of Knightdale.

Kickers Alex Mattes of West Johnston and Nick Christensen of Clayton were the co-special teams players of the year.

Knightdale, which won the league title, had quarterback Marquavious Johnson named the offensive player of the year and Ron Senseney named coach of the year.

West Johnston registered another awards sweep in the cross country ranks. West’s Kyle Christ and Becky Meshaw were the players of the year and West coach Patrick Shaw swept the boys and girls coach of the year honors.

The conference also presents individual sportsmanship awards to a member of each team in all sports. Those winners are listed with the complete all-conference awards.

Eastern Wake News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service