Notables, July 17

July 15, 2013 

Left, Josh Hunter, Fabian Jaimes, Sam Marsh and James Vitt from Boy Scout Troop 524, recently received became Eagle Scouts during a ceremony at Zebulon Baptist Church.


Locals Boy Scouts become Eagle Scouts

Josh Hunter, Fabian Jaimes, Sam Marsh and James Vitt from Boy Scout Troop 524, have each earned the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest achievement in Boy Scouting.

For his Eagle project, Hunter directed the construction of four picnic tables for East Wake Academy. The tables will be used for lunch and an outdoor classroom.

Jaimes directed the installation of three flagpoles at Friendship Church for displaying the American, North Carolina and Christian flags.

Marsh led a group of volunteers in the removal of old unattractive foliage around The Shepherds’ Care Clinic in Zebulon. The team replaced the foliage with attractive plants and bushes. And, Vitt built four park benches and an outdoor grass volleyball court for Zebulon Parks and Recreation Department.

Boy Scout Troop 524 is sponsored by Zebulon Baptist Church.

K’dale resident wins scholarship

Jasmine Gray of Knightdale is the winner of a Carolinas Credit Union Foundation $1,000 scholarship from the Local Government Federal Credit Union Fund. This scholarship is awarded to credit union members to help with cost of continuing their education.

Gray plans to attend North Carolina A&T State University.

ASU graduates

The following students received degrees from Appalachian State University this spring:

Christin Michelle Birchard, Cortney Dianne Macpherson, Amanda D. Mitchell, Meghan Marie Williford of Knightdale, and John Michael Rizor of Zebulon have earned bachelor’s degrees from ASU.

UNC-G honors

Kevin C. Bayaca, Kyle B. Minton and Oriana S. Robertson of Knightdale, and Sarah E. Moss and Jannelle M. Sutton of Wendell are on the Chancellor’s List for the spring semester at UNC-Greensboro.

Knighdale residents Kevin C. Bayaca, Kristen E. Fuller, Jasmyn Graham, Kyle B. Minton, Oriana S. Robertson and Jimalie N. Watkins; Wendell residents Brooke A. Hellier, Courtney L. Keeton, Jeffrey D. Mohr, Sarah E. Moss, Jannelle M. Sutton; Zebulon residents Bret L. Dixon, Cameral L. Mallard, Kayla A. Mallard, Talesha S. Russell and Bianca N. Smit of Zebulon are on the Dean’s List for the spring semester at UNC-G.

UNC-G graduates

Knightdale residents Jarrod P. Rudd, Wendell residents Jessica A. Harris, Jeffrey D. Mohr and Jannelle M. Sutton, and Zebulon resident, Jamel M. Jones have earned bachelor’s degrees from UNC-Greensboro.

Locals make Dean’s List

•  Elisabeth Grace Barham from Wendell has been named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2013 semester at North Greenville University in Tigerville, S. C.

To qualify for the Dean’s List, Barham had to maintain a 3.5 GPA and take at least 12 semester hours.

•  Ashley Ann Crume of Knightdale, Emily Bevin Hall of Wendell and Travis Jarrod Pearce of Zebulon are on the President’s List for the spring semester at Barton College.

Knightdale residents, Amy Elizabeth Cogan, Nichelle Cerina Edwards and Dimetra Denise Rone, and Zebulon residents David C. Lanier and Annette Currin Roberts are on the Dean’s List for the spring semester at Barton College.

Please send notables to

Eastern Wake News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service