Northern Carolina 2A Conference

Four Johnston coaches honored

cbest@newsobserver.comJuly 11, 2013 

Four coaches from Johnston County were recognized by their fellow coaches in the Northern Carolina 2A Conference as part of the spring season honors announcements made recently.

Corinth Holders had three coaches of the year with Theresa Gale taking boys golf honors, Chris Davis earning honors in boys tennis and Jonathan Riba taking the girls track and field award. North Johnston veteran coach George Daniels who led the Panthers to an unbeaten regular season record was the softball coach of the year.

North’s Lauren Batten, a University of North Carolina recruit, was named the player of the year in softball.


Player of the Year: Clay Lockaman (Roanoke Rapids)

Coach of the Year: Leonard Allen (Bunn)

All-Conference Team: Caleb Allen (Louisburg), Dylan Allen (Roanoke Rapids), Malick Allen (Northwest Halifax), Dakota Amant (Corinth Holders), Sam Berman (Corinth Holders), Spencer Brickhouse (Bunn), Nick Cole (Bunn), Aaron Crumb (Roanoke Rapids), Matthew Davis (Franklinton), Tommy Jackson (North Johnston), Clay Lockaman (Roanoke Rapids), Jake Lewis (Corinth Holders), Danquan Neal (Franklinton), Maurice Person (Louisburg), Cole Phelps (Roanoke Rapids), Nick Sanders (Bunn), Christian Sledge (Bunn), Tyler Thompson (Warren County), Colton Young (Louisburg)

Local Honorable Mention: Caleb Byrd (North Johnston), Jacob Price (North Johnston), Jacob Rowe (Corinth Holders), Corey Shirk (Corinth Holders), Tanner Snipes (North Johnston), Michael Stott (North Johnston)

Boys Golf

Player of the Year: William Lewis (Bunn)

Coach of the Year: Theresa Gale (Corinth Holders)

All-Conference Team: Ryan Barrett (Roanoke Rapids), Sam Baxter (Corinth Holders), Jeff Eaton (Bunn), Monty Fields (Corinth Holders), Connor Jones (Bunn), Kellen Labonte (Corinth Holders), William Lewis (Bunn), Kevin Martin (Franklinton), Trent Perry (Franklinton), Hunter Pike (North Johnston), Nick Routhier (Corinth Holders), Will Stanley (Corinth Holders)

Boys Tennis

Player of the Year: Garrett Freese (Franklinton)

Coach of the Year: Chris Davis (Corinth Holders)

All-Conference Team: Jake Altman (Corinth Holders), Braxton Brewington (Corinth Holders), Cade Greer (Corinth Holders), Sam Griffin (Bunn), Jack Farley (Bunn), Davis Felts (Roanoke Rapids), Garrett Freese (Franklinton), Xac Fromal (Roanoke Rapids), Grant Poupard (Franklinton), Alejandro Rivera (Louisburg), Jackson Sherron (North Johnston), Stephen Worley (North Johnston), William Xia (Corinth Holders)

Local Honorable Mention: Christian Green (Corinth Holders), Bailey Lail (North Johnston), Horacio Loza-Rodriguez (North Johnston)

Boys Track and Field

Athlete of the Year: Tarik Cohen (Bunn)

Coach of the Year: Trent Sanders (Franklinton)

All-Conference Team: Ashton Avery (Bunn), Bailey Blackwell (Corinth Holders), Darrian Brown (Louisburg), Cordarius Bumpers (Bunn), Tarik Cohen (Bunn), Jackson Creech (Corinth Holders), Trey Daniels (North Johnston), Naquan Davis (Bunn), Charlie Gray (Corinth Holders), David McPhail (Bunn), Anthony Mercado (Corinth Holders), Seth Peele (North Johnston), Tyree Person (Bunn), Alex Pilkington (North Johnston), Hunter Starr (Corinth Holders), Malik Tarbell (Franklinton), Rondez Taylor (Franklinton), D’Angelo Tyson (North Johnston), Clifton White (Bunn), Daniel Williams (North Johnston), Torrell Williams (Franklinton)

Girls Soccer

Player of the Year: Veronia Edmonds (Roanoke Rapids)

Coach of the Year: Craig Jean (Roanoke Rapids)

All-Conference Team: Natalie Browne (Roanoke Rapids), Whitney Bunn (Bunn), Anna Capps (Corinth Holders), Amanda Eckard (Corinth Holders), Veronica Edwards (Roanoke Rapids), Kelsey Harris (Louisburg), Felice Hewitt (Corinth Holders), Chandler Hines (North Johnston), Christi Innocent (Corinth Holders), Bella Iorio (Corinth Holders), Erica Levinson (Bunn), Kayla Miller (Roanoke Rapids), Anna Moss (Franklinton), Allie O’Hara (Corinth Holders), Lucy Perez (Bunn), Ariel Porter (Roanoke Rapids), Hannah Rayman (Franklinton), Kenia Roa (Louisburg), Savanna Steyers (Franklinton), Chloe Wilson (Roanoke Rapids), Natalee Wright (Roanoke Rapids)

Local Honorable Mention: Sam Richardson (North Johnston), Judith Rivera (North Johnston), Morgan Townsend (North Johnston), Brooke Tyler (Corinth Holders)

Girls Track and Field

Player of the Year: Charity Snelling (Franklinton)

Coach of the Year: Jonathan Riba (Corinth Holders)

All-Conference Team: Hanna Canterbury (Corinth Holders), Arianna Chappell (Corinth Holders), Megan Chappell (Corinth Holders), Daija Corbitt (Franklinton), Michaela Greene (Franklinton), Lyric Harris (Franklinton), Asya Macon (Corinth Holders), Whitney Peppers (Corinth Holders), Marie Pickett (Corinth Holders), Abby Pittman (Corinth Holders), Cameron Rutherford (Corinth Holders), Starbesha Satterwhite (Warren County), Essence Scott (Corinth Holders), Charity Snelling (Franklinton), Kendall Stephens (Corinth Holders), Arden Vessie (Corinth Holders), Tainsha Vines (Bunn), Kayla Wetherall (Franklinton), Breasia Williams (Louisburg), Tangela Williams (North Johnston), Vanisha Wilshire (Louisburg)


Player of the Year: Lauren Batten (North Johnston)

Coach of the Year: George Daniels (North Johnston)

All-Conference Team: Sara Abernathy (Roanoke Rapids), Taylor Adams (North Johnston), Kaylynn Batten (North Johnston), Parker Brantley (Bunn), Nella Chamblee (Corinth Holders), Victoria Dunston (Bunn), Sierra Hearp (Roanoke Rapids), Jamie Johnson (North Johnston), Meredith Johnson (North Johnston), Zoe Hinton (Louisburg), Kelsie Hocutt (Corinth Holders), Courtney Macklin (Warren County), Ashleigh Mason (North Johnston), Kayla Narron (Corinth Holders), Taylor Sikes (Warren County), Katlyn Tharrington (Louisburg), Caroline Turner (North Johnston)

Local Honorable Mention: Kayla Mears (Corinth Holders), Olivia Narron (North Johnston), Kris Neal (Corinth Holders), Olivia Stewart (North Johnston)

Eastern Wake News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service