Notables: June 5

June 4, 2013 

ECU awards degrees

The following students earned degrees from East Carolina University during commencement exercises May 10:

Mark Akland, Jessica Bryant-Chapman and Gaiselle Cambra, Jack Friesen, Lindsay Futris, Abigail Hendricks, Ryan Stockdale, Brienne Sykes, Sarah Young and Lindsey Ziegler all earned bachelor’s degrees;

Knightdale residents; Colby Carter and Jessica Wood, both of Knightdale, earned master’s degrees. Brittany Dickens, of Knightdale earned a doctorate in physical therapy.

Wendell residents Abdulla Abu-Zayed, Rachel Atkinson, Amber Daigle and Amanda Dean earned bachelor’s degrees and Shelly Underhill earned a master’s degree.

Zebulon residents Brittany Boone, Pablo Coria, Bruce Dean, , Sydney Hopkins, Emma Lewis, Robert Lumley, Brittni McShea, Lauren Melina, Emily Mullen, Matthew Roebuck, Lisa Ward and Erica Wisecup received bachelor’s degrees. Michael Wall recieved a master’s degree. April Evans earned a Ph. D.

Yeager wins scholarship

Matthew Yeager, 17, a student at North Raleigh Christian Academy has won a $4,000 Siemens Merit Scholarship. The Wendell resident is one of 75 students nationwide selected for the honor.

He is the son of Mart and Alicia Yeager.

The scholarship provides for tuition over the course of each winner’s college years. Yeager will receive $1,000 each academic year for his tuition.

Siemens Merit Scholarship are awarded to children of Siemens U.S. employees. Recipients are chosen based on high scores on the PSAT as well as academic record, activities, contribution to the community, school recommendation. Applicants also have to write an essay about their personal characteristics, their plans and their goals.

Wake Tech recognizes top students

The following local students have been named to the spring 2013 semester President’s List and Dean’s List at Wake Technical Community College.

The President’s List includes Jana Lynn Crye, Thomas James Dupree, Eileen Fitzgerald, Benjamin Michael Fornecker, Philip Rodney France, Austin Robert Gowland, Lauren J Holland, Tracy A Lockett, Robert Ellington Morris, Joseph Richman and Yvonne Kay Vickery of Knightdale.

Megan Lynn Ball, Andrew Heacox, Elzbieta Angelique Kraszewski, Karen Elizabeth Pait, Michael Ali Sanatian and Tong Tan Truong of Wendell.

Anne Olivia Kosobucki, Megan Dawn Parker and Courtney Elizabeth Speight of Zebulon.

The Dean’s List includes Andrea Oluwayemisi Adegoke, Halima Benkhaled, Brooke Lindsey Benton, Silvia Castellanos, Stacey Nicole Chase, Yamileth Indira Council, Jonathan Scott Cousins, Claude Craver, Janet Kay George, Brian Joshua Glines, Lyndsae Danae Green, Timothy Wade Guffey, Bertina Melody Joan Harris, Cynthia Hunter Hinnant, Ashley Danielle King, Glenn Martez Lofton, Ronald Maddox, Jennifer Marie Morgan, Stefanie Nicole Newell, Derek Keith Pattison, Jay Peters, Julian Everette Ryan, Kimberly Smith Seabright, Bryan McKinley Taylor, Derrick William Tillison, Jean-Raymond Kisase Uwandji and Brian Matthew Ziegler of Knightdale.

Matthew Steven Boykin, Amanda Dean, Nadim Jabbour, Vanessa Maria Layton, Greg David Martin, Clarence Daniel Reynolds, Kady Cecilia Rhodes, Patrice De’ann Thompson and Sharon Amber Wright of Wendell.

Natalie Akhtar, Margaret Pope Brooks, Jamie Ray Davis, Scott Austin Gaster, Edward Hammell, Tabitha Lynn Hill, Karla Janine Ladd, John Ernest Lumley, Sean Cody MacNelly, Morgan Elizabeth Mintz, Orin Patrick O’Connell, Richard Allen Richardson, Philippe Alexandre Tassilly, Micah Gerald Tillman, Victoria Catherine Tillman and Geoffrey Van Valdez of Zebulon.

Local students inducted into honor society

Bobbi Lane of Zebulon, Margaret Njiraini of Knightdale and Breanna Wehunt of Wendell were recently inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society chapter at Johnston Community College.

Students had to maintain at least a 3.5 GPA and carry 12 hours of college-level courses.

Eastern Wake News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service